Tags

,

“When I think about my twenties and what a foolish girl I was and how I would give over my power to men who really didn’t mean me well… But now I hold no grudges against them either because I realize I’m the one who gave over the power because I didn’t know any better. And now that I know better I know I don’t have to do that again. It’s one of the most powerful lessons any of us can ever know.” ~ Oprah

I don’t know about you but I tend to be very harsh on myself at times. I have this idea of who I want to be and how I want to behave towards myself and others on a daily basis, and whenever my behavior is not aligned with this ideal self, I tend to get very critical and judgmental.

This is something that happens to a lot of people. Many of us are our own worst critics and we are so hard on ourselves. We blame and criticize ourselves for things we might have done in the past, failing to realize that the past is in the past. We can’t change what happened in the past but we can surely learn from it. Today we are different people. Today we know better, and because we know better, we do better. And this is exactly the same lesson Oprah learned from this beautiful and loving soul that once walked on this Earth, Maya Angelou. A great video with a great message. Hope you’ll enjoy watching it as much as I have :)

Enjoy!

http://www.purposefairy.com/74391/the-beautiful-lesson-maya-angelou-taught-oprah/