Tags

,

Bestie told me that the day her ex-bf walked out on her, she decided to write to herself as a way to start fresh. She described it as ‘the first day for the rest of my life’ and brought the letter everywhere she went so that she could read it whenever she needed a reminder. My therapist asked me this same question in the last session. So here’s a short letter to myself:

Dear Hannah,

As therapy just ended for you, I need you to believe that you are strong enough to stand on your own two feet. Your therapist was there to guide you through your difficulties but the one who control the reins is YOU alone. The world out there can be a scary place but don’t forget that the world is also filled with beautiful things too. Choose wisely which one you want to focus on. Your friends may not always be there for you, but remember that you have your faith to turn to at the end of the day. You may feel alone but it is times like this that you gather your courage and inner strength to see yourself through the darkness. The light at the end of the tunnel might be dim at the moment, but place your trust and faith that you will reach it someday. Don’t give up. Don’t let negativity take control of you – instead, get a grip on it the moment it starts pervading your life. Chin up. Stand tall. I trust that you are stronger than you think you are.

Love, Me

Ok honestly? Not my most articulate letter/posts but I think it covers the gist of what I would like to tell myself.

What would you write to yourself today?

